Thus Far

I invited subscribers to my newsletter to give me some blog topic ideas for my Come Back To Me blog tour.

They did.

One idea was to summarize what’s happened in the first four books. This person suggested I do not reveal all the secrets, but at least give the relevant backstory to remind those who read the books (perhaps the first one as long as four years ago), what’s happening in this world.

This idea was perfect for new readers, too.

Come Back To Me is new reader friendly. Yes, there will be plot points and character references that won’t make sense. Sorry. But probably 89% of the book will work as a new reader. (This percentage was calculated using the rectal database, i.e., I pulled it out of my ass.)


Here’s the story thus far.

In the first book of The Lost and Founds series, the strange, lonely narrator, Vin Vanbly (though it is revealed this not his real name) meets Perry Mangin at an art gallery and gives him an invitation: spend the next forty hours with me, doing everything I say, and I will help you remember your kingship. I will help you remember the man you were always meant to be.

Perry agrees, beginning forty hours of insanity in the Bay Area—Alcatraz, a homeless shelter, the Golden Gate Bridge, one of California’s secret beach coves, and a mountain top experience that changes Perry’s life forever.

Perry gets kinged.

The series never really directly answers “what does it mean to get kinged?” Well, unless you consider four (now five) novels discussing the concept of “kingship” as an answer. The reader must decide what kingship (and of course queenship!) means to them.

In the second novel, Vin Vanbly returns, but this book is set three years before King Perry. The participant is a small-town farmer named Mai Kearns who has been corresponding online with Vin. Vin leads Mai on a treasure hunt all weekend, seeking ways for Mai to save his soon-to-be-foreclosed farm. Through Vin’s eyes, readers again explore Mai’s internal life and what power is needed to become the king he is meant to be.

Throughout these novels, Vin reveals a sparkling fairy tale of The Lost and Founds, featuring the Found Kings and their counterparts, the Lost Ones. Their ridiculous antics and anecdotes guide each of Vin’s men on their King Weekend.

In the third novel, set a few years before the first two, Vin is younger and less experienced. He makes some big mistakes. Will he succeed in kinging this strong New York businessman, Terrance Altham? In The Butterfly King, Vin’s abilities are put to the test. Also in this novel, we learn more about the backstory of The Lost and Founds…maybe Vin’s crazy tale has some historical context. Maybe this “fairy tale” has mysterious origins older—much more ancient—than Vin’s imagination.

Magical realism is an element of each book, but in The Butterfly King, readers glimpses into the unique mythology. A street fortune teller tells Vin “a king named DC is going to destroy you. And for the Lost and Founds mythology to come true, you have to let him.”

Things look grim for Vin Vanbly.

In the fourth book, which takes place in 2002, Vin attends Burning Man, that crazy and insanely beautiful desert festival that happens every year in the temporary city of Black Rock, Nevada. During this desert adventure, readers witness the wear and tear these kingings take on Vin. Giving “all his love” to each man devastates him, leaving him even more lonely and desolate than before. How much of him is left? The novel ends on a jarring note—a police report reporting destruction of cemetery property, a tombstone with the last name of Vanbly. The date of damage was St. Patrick’s Day, March 17th, 2011.

Come Back To Me begins in the year 2005.

It ends on March 17th, 2011.

Do not expect all mysteries to be solved by the end of Come Back To Me. Some mysteries (such as Vin’s name and the secrecy behind it) are revealed, as well as Vin’s relationship to his adopted, older brother. But some secrets remain.

The sixth novel, King Daniel, is the final novel in this story arc. In this book (due out late 2016), the mysterious king known only as “DC” is finally revealed, and Vin’s fate—as well as those he loves—is now decided.

Welcome to The Lost and Founds.


Blurb for Come Back To Me

After years of lying, scheming, and dangerous manipulation, Vin Vanbly finally gets what’s coming to him: love.

How can he survive unstoppable, uncontrollable love when his very nature demands he control everything? Clues about his one true love—tantalizingly hinted at in each of the books in The Lost and Founds series—come together in four life-changing stories.

In No Kings, a sex hookup with a parking lot stranger reveals more about Vin’s life as a Lost King and his destiny than he could have dreamed. In King Fitch, Vin meets the last king in his long legacy, one final weekend before he withdraws from the world to an anonymous Latin American jungle. The Lost Ones recounts a terrifying kidnapping by street thugs from Vin’s past. In King Malcolm the Restorer, Vin’s mysterious relationship with his older brother—and the soul-crushing secret which drew them together—is finally revealed.

Through it all, Vin Vanbly struggles to survive. But what if he is destined for more than mere survival? Is he finally ready to embrace the truth and remember who he was always meant to be? Once there were a tribe where every man was the one true king and every woman the one true queen…

Amazon link:  Come Back To Me


Leave a Reply